TCD Boathouse RestorationRestoration
Design Team: TCD Internal
Duration: 12 Weeks
Overview: Murcom undertook the careful refurbishment and restoration works of the roof of the TCD Boathouse which was built in 1836 and is situated on the River Liffey, in the picturesque setting of the War Memorial Park. The extensive works consisted of the removal of the existing roof finishes, and replacement of same to replicate the original and repairs to existing timber work where timber beams were replaced as directed and as per originals. We installed new cast-iron rainwater goods, carried out dry-rot and wet-rot treatment of timbers, and insulated the entire attic space. We were also tasked with the repair of ornate plasterwork, ceilings and cornices on relevant ceiling areas. All works were carried out under the supervision of a conservation specialist.